The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument, the author suggests that a jazz music in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. However, the additional evidence is needed to be validate the conclusion.

First, to convince us, the author has to provide the evidence that distance is the main determinant of choosing a jazz club. However, chances are that other factors might be given higher priority than location when choosing jazz club. For example, jazz fans might prefer a club with a sense of history. In other words, a jazz club established a hundred years ago and visited by several famous jazz stars in the history might be more attractive to jazz fans than a newly opened one with a shorter distance but no history. It could also have been that due to the low income in Monroe, a jazz club with longer distance but lower price would still appeal to the local jazz fans even after the proposed jazz club opened. Without ruling out such possibilities, the author cannot convince us that the proposed jazz club will own the local market and be a tremendous success.

Second, without offering the evidence that there is over 100,000 people attending M’s annual jazz festival every year instead of last summer and the majority of these people are native inhabitants, the author fails to convince us that the conclusion that jazz is extremely popular in M is complete and substantiated. Chances are that the free ticket of last jazz festival led to over 100,000 people attending the festival last summer or the majority of these people are from other regions rather than M. Either of the scenarios, it true, would render the author’s conclusion, jazz is highly popular in M, unfounded. Therefore, a jazz music club in M may not be a profitable enterprise.

Third, another piece of evidence that is needed to strengthen the argument is that the nationwide statistic about how much money a typical money a typical jazz fan would spend on jazz entertainment per year applies equally to those jazz fans in M. Yet this might not be the case, for a variety of possible reason. For example, perhaps most people including those jazz fans in M are living in poverty, they even cannot earn their living and leave entertainment alone. Without taking into consideration such possibilities, the author fails to substantiate his claim that a jazz music club in M would be a tremendously profitable enterprise.

In sum, the author’s arguments are all unconvincing.