Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Younger school children(ages five to ten) should be required to study art and music in addition to math, language, science, and history.

Some people think that there’s no need for children to learn art and music as mandatory subjects along with other subjects such as math, history, science, and language. However, in my opinion, I am certainly sure that it is beneficial to have art and music as mandatory subjects.

To begin with, understanding art and music enable children to widen their perspectives. While involving in activities to learn art and music, children can join new experiences that they have not been exposed to. This leads to understand the details about another field, especially history, and learn how to express their feelings. To be specific, art and music all have to do with history. The art and music movements were commonly formed along with world events. For example, after the Second world war, the painters expressed the painfulness of the war and its harsh results through the paintings. Also, the musicians at that time composed the songs with sadness or vulnerability from the war. Therefore, mandatorily learning art and music is a good way for children to pile up background knowledge of historical events and present their emotions in the form of arts.

On top of that, children feel a sociable atmosphere while they are engaged in artistic activities. Artistic activities such as an orchestra or an art performance let children get along with their friends who are participating in the same activity. It allows them to socialize and interact with one another. Think about math or science classes. Children are stationary in the classroom and jog down the notes from the teacher. Even if the science class conducts the lab experiment, this is not requested more communication skills than art or music activities. So to speak, when you are a member of the orchestra, you need to cooperate with others to make beautiful sounds. Also, the situation is the same when you are on the art performance project.

To sum up, I admit it might be fine without art and music as required courses. However, I strongly believe that advantages, when children learn these for requirements, outweigh those when children only learn math, history, science, and language.