Patience is usually not a good strategy; we should take action now rather than later.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I disagree with the statement that patience is usually not a good strategy. Rapid action taking is indeed vital under some circumstances, but it also runs the risk of causing loss. I believe a good leader makes correct judgement of the situation, and renders wise decisions with time available.

Leaders do need to make quick calls in urgent conditions as ambivalence and

hesitation would cause irreversible damage, and thus should be by all means avoided.

For example, hospitals usually receive the case where a patient is heavily injured in an

accident with multiple organs failing. The chief physician of the hospital needs to

analyze the overall body condition of the patient in a quick yet effective manner, and

lead the team to begin treatment from the most injured part. Under such situation, any

delaying could possibly render some damaged areas untreatable or even cause death.

However, there are medical symptoms unfathomable to the most knowledgeable and

experienced doctors for which they make decisions they might themselves later

disagree upon. This is because given very limited time, they are forced to concentrate

on certain parts and thus may inevitably overlook details that might be crucial enough

to sway their earlier decisions.

While quick decision making ability is regarded as an indication of good judgement

and decisiveness in an emergency, people also associate it with being rash and

impetuous when time is ample. In other words, when the situation is not urgent,

decision makers are more appreciated if they could carefully examine the information

available and actively engage in discussions before reaching an agreement. For

instance, regardless of their political systems, the enactment of a law has never been

an easy journey for any countries. The American congress, British parliament, and

their counterparts all over the world, which are recognized as the political leaders of

the country, have to undergo an arduous legislation process to implement

sophisticated laws that can benefit their citizens.

That said, I believe quick decision making is not always a necessity anywhere; choice

made under impulse can be ineffective or even destructive. Good leaders should

always measure and make use of the time allowed under a particular circumstance to

draw a wise decision.