Many people value long lasting friendships Which ONE of the following qualities do you think Is most Important for determining whether a friendship between two people will last a long time Why They always help each other in a crisis or when something goes

Friendships are crucial to everyone, so many people nowadays want to do their best to make relationships last longer. Some people feel that helping each other is very important to the continuity of a friendship. Yet others believe that only people with common interests can build lasting friendships. In my opinion, I maintain that mutual trust is the most central factor in determining the longevity of a friendship. My reasons and examples are discussed in more detail below.

First of all, the most important reason to support my view is that only when friends have the most basic trust in each other are we less likely to have frequent misunderstandings and thus more likely to maintain relationships for a long time. On the contrary, if friends do not trust each other, chances are high for us to misunderstand each other over trivial things, thus causing a rift in our friendship. I believe relevant examples are not uncommon in our lives My uncle had a very good friend, and they usually studied stocks together. Every time my uncle found any company worth investing in, he would recommend it to his friend. However, there was a time when my uncle was particularly busy, so he didn't tell his friend about the latest change in his stock portfolio in time. Also, the stock market was performing well during that time and my uncle made a lot of money. When his friend found out about this, he was very frustrated because he felt that my uncle had cheated on him. He therefore thought that my uncle did not want to help his friends around him to become rich together. Despite my uncle best efforts to explain to him, he didn't have any trust in my uncle's words, so their friendship soon came to an end, My uncle's story shows that friendships can hardly last if there is no basic trust between friends.

On the other hand, I don't think common interest is the most important thing in friendship. It is not hard to find that there are numerous close friends who do not share many hobbies, and there are plenty of people who like to build relationships with people having different hobbies from themselves because they feel that this can broaden their horizons and make their lives more colorful. There are even some individuals who believe that if their friends have the same hobbies as they do, then it's boring to stay together all the time.

Furthermore I disagree that always being able to help each other is an important factor in determining whether a friendship will last. The reason behind this is also very simple. Nowadays, the majority of people in this society are under tremendous pressure, so each of us needs to do our best to earn a living every day. Even so, we may barely break even. Under such circumstances, it is difficult for us to always lend a helping hand when our friends are in trouble There may well be situations where even if we know a friend is entangled in a tough situation, it is difficult for us to offer any practical help. When this happens, what determines whether the friendship will continue or not is whether there is enough trust between each other, as I said in the previous paragraph.

In conclusion, based on the reasons and examples I mentioned above, I insist that if we want to build long-lasting friendships with others, mutual trust is indispensable.