Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Younger school children ages five to ten should be required to study art and music in addition to math language science and history

Nowadays, we have entered a brand-new era and thanks to the development of the media, there are always different attitudes towards the same issue. Recently, an increasing number of people are concerned about the debate on if it is necessary for younger school children to learn art and music in addition to math and other academic subjects. Some argue that studying music and art is of no use for children because they should learn more knowledge relating to academic. However, from my personal perspective, I shall lay my preference of standpoint on that younger children are ought to learn art and music expect from math, languages classes because of the following reasons.

Firstly, studying art and music enables children to expand their social circle. There is no doubt to say that the more interests the children have, the more opportunities they have to meet with new people. For example, by studying music, children may make friends with others who speak the same language as them and make an appointment to go to listen to a concert together after the class. They will talk a lot about not only the concert, but also other things, and thus they may get along well with each other for a long period. By this means, children get more chance to communicate with others and gradually, their social skills are improved. Therefore, children who learn art and music as interests will be more likely to have more friends, comparing those who only learn math, languages and history at school, which is also beneficial for their future.

What’s more, it is helpful for children to relax. In the modern society, not only adults are under too much pressure, but children are as well. According to a recent survey released by the world health organization, 43.4% of the younger children are facing certain mental probelems due to the pressure of schoolwork. For instance, the pressure of getting higher score, the pressure of going into a better primary school and etc. Children have been exhausted to try their best on the class such as math, languages, science and history, while they hardly have time to relax, even though a short rest. By learning some subjects, in which score is not necessary, such as art and music, children are literated from pressure for a while. For instance, children will feel relaxed after listening to a soft song, and also they will get enough energy to study other subjects. Moreover, they may find it easy to concentrate on studying after relaxing for a while, which is beneficial to improve their studying efficiency.

Admittedly, learning art and music may occupy the time spending on the academic subjects, which means that children would have less time to study math, history, science. However, in my personal opinion, the priority should be given to the health when camparing to study since nobody is able to finish their work perfectly without a good condition of mental health.

After analyzing all the pros and cons from multiple aspects, we may now, can reach the conclusion confidently that, younger children are ought to learn art and music in addition to the ordinary subjects, such as history and math.