Fossil evidence indicates that the blompus—an extremely large, carnivorous land mammal—

inhabited the continent of Pentagoria for tens of thousands of years until its sudden decline and

ultimate extinction about twelve thousand years ago. Scientists have determined that the

extinction coincided with a period of significant climate change and with the arrival of the first

humans. Some scholars theorize that the climate change so altered the distribution of plants and

animals in the environment that the food chain upon which the blompus depended was

irretrievably disrupted. Others contend that predation by humans is the more plausible

explanation for the rapid population decline.

Write a response in which you discuss specific evidence that could be used to decide

between the proposed explanations above.

The given argument discuss about the contradiction between some scholars on the extinction of the blompus-carnivorous large land mammal. Some scholars theorize that the climate change altered the distribution of plants and animals in the environment and due to disruption of the food chain on which the blompus was depended is the main reason behind their extinction, however, some content that predation by humans explains this decline. However, both arguments from scholars contains unwarranted assumptions which needs to be justified to decide to reach at any conclusion.

First assumption have been made by some scholars is that the change in the climate altered the distribution of plants and animals affected the blompus. However, to make this statement more convincing they must provide some evidence like how much plants and which kind of animals have been affected by the climate change. The argument states that the food chain has been disrupted but as the argument mentioned that the blompus were carnivorous, distribution of plants may have not effected them as much as any other animals on which they were depended. Therefore, scholars must provide details on which animals the blompus were depended and provide further confimation on that the blompus were highly affected by this disruption.

Another assumption is that the change in the climate disturbed the distribution of plants and other animals' but not the blompus itselves. There is a possibility that the blompus-itselves altered the distribution and end up leaving Pentagoria and settled far away from it and the factor affected to their extinction like-being a prey by other carnivorous animals. If it could be the reason then the assumption of these scholars failed immediatly. Therefore, further investigation requires to know how climate change actually affceted the blompus.

Some scholars made a conjecture that predation by humans is the reason behind the extinction of the blompus. However, there are no probes provide that suggestion or prove that the humans have been preying the blompus which resulted in the rapid population decline. Even if the humans could be the reason, then still the argument doesn't provide any concrete evidence to point out that the predation by humans is the reason. Indeed, it is possible that, the human used to hunt these blompus for their own safty or other uses, for example, use the blompus' skin to make their clothes.

All in all, with no solid evidence one cannot come up with any decision that what was the reason behind the extinction of the blompus. Either of two could be wrong or even both if the assumptions would be proved not true. However, as both explanations by scholars could be improvised by providing further proofs.