GRE Argument: The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument at hand calls for restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level, which indicates that this time will be increased. The television station cites complaints and the cancellation of advertisement contracts as reasons for their decision. Although their argument may seem compelling, the television station must evaluate the following.

First off, the television station states that most of the complaints received were regarding with the coverage of weather and local news. they, however, do not address what those complaints exactly pertain to. if the compaints specifically state that viewers are not happy with the increased national news time and the decreased weather and local news time, then their argument becomes stronger. however, their argument weakens if the complaints pertain to another facet of the news, such as a change in weather and local news anchors. viewers might also be concerned about the type of local news that is being broadcasted. For example, viewers might want positive and uplifting news, but the station is currently focused on negative, stress-producing news.

Secondly, the television station must evaluate the reasons why local businesses are cancelling adverisement contracts. The answer to this will help determine if restoring coverage time is beneficial to the station. For example, the state of the local and national economy may affect the amount of money that local businesses spend on advertising. if the economy is weak, businesses might be making low profit, therefore not being able to allocate as much money to advertising. this would undermine the station's argument. On the other hand, if businesses explicitly state that they are cancelling contacts due to the change of local news and weather screen time, there is more logic for the television station to revert back to their original news and weather airing times.

Last but not least, the memorandum does not state evidence of how their plan will attract more viewers and help stop the loss of advertising revenue. this assumption needs to be backed up by empirical evidence because it might be the case that they will continue to lose revenue and viewers even if they go along with their plan. if the station obtains testimonies of viewers and businesses stating that they will support the television station again, then the station's plan becomes stronger. however, if they are unable to obtain evidence for the success of their plan, it is as likely for this plan to backfire than it is to succeed.

Overall, the plan of the television station means well and is written to aid the success of the station. however, their plan might fail miseranly unless if they evaluate the assumptions and evidence described.