A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The statement at hand suggests that students and a nation as a whole would benefit from requiring all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. Each student comes from a unique background, has a unique personality and talents, meaning that students may require unique academic curriculum. while this might be true, students should be required to study the same basic core national curriculum in language arts, math, social studies and sciences. this is why I mostly disagree with the statement. First off, students learn at different rates and have different interests. having each unique student study the exact same curriculum could have detrimental effects on students who learn at a different rate or are interested in an academic fields other than the ones that are being pushed on them. For example, a student that has mental impediments or learn at a slower rate than their counterparts will have a difficult time following the national curriculum, therefore falling behind on their studies. these students would benefit from having an individualized curriculum that meets their unique academic needs. On the other side, there are students that show natural academic talent and also benefit from an individualized academic plan. if these students are also forced into following the proposed national curriculum, their academic talents will stagnate because they are not being constantly challenged. these examples are solid evidence of how a national curriculum would not benefit the students of a nation. Secondly, even if there is a group of students that learn at the "average" pace, their interest will vary. For example, in this set of students, there might be some that are interested in going to college to pursue a four-year degree, while others aspire to attend trade school to become mechanics or cosmetologists. The recommendation being examined states that the national curriculum should be the same for each student up until college. To increase the chance for each student to succeed, their pre-college academic curriculum should be tailored to their talents and interests. For example, a student that is interested in becoming a mechanic would not benefit from taking science heavy courses compared to engineering and mechanic courses. also, a student that is becoming a doctor has no benefit in taking many history and social science courses. these students would benefit the most if they take courses that align with their interests and will prepare them best for their future plans. On the other hand, the recommendation is advantageous if there is a national curriculum based on categories of study rather than individual courses. examples of these categories include the science, math, English, social studies, and foreign language courses. this approach would let each student be challenged with courses suited best for them while making sure that every student is exposed to the same basic curriculum. Overall, the recommendation means for students to thrive academically, but there are many wholes in the proposal that will make student success less than likely.