As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Since pre-historic times, humans have been developing technology. This ranges from creating the wheel, to cars, airplanes, and Facebook. The statement suggests that the ability of humans to think for themselves will deteriorate due to reliance on technology to solve problems. This statement does not address all aspects of the correlation between technology and human cognition; humans do not depend entirely on technology, rather humans use technology as a tool to make problem solving more efficient and effective.

One example of how technology is merely a problem solving tool is the human use of statistical analysis programs such as SPSS and SAS. These programs take raw data (that was collected and inputted by humans), analyze the data, and then spit out a report on said data. These programs are used in a variety of fields, from the marketing department of a firm, to the epidemiology department of a prestigious university. In this example, the statistical analysis program is used by humans to extract reports in a quicker and more effective manner; where there are less errors and discrepencies than if a human were to analyze and create the report. Furthermore, the technology is not making any decision based on the data it analyzed because it is impossible for a program to make this choice. The human decides on the metrics that SPSS or SAS is going to analyze, and then it is the human that decides how that analysis is going to impact the problem at hand. This ultimately requires the human to think on what decision they are going to make; whether it be a decision on who to lay off, or a decision on the efficacy of a new medicine.

Another example of technology merely being a tool is international trade. Airplanes and cargo ships are used to transport goods from one country to another, something that is practically impossible for humans to do by themselves. It would be silly to think that humans can swim or fly across oceans with millions of tons of goods. Behind the airplanes and cargo ships are the people that operate them and that decide the ultimate destination of the goods being tranported. These decisions have to be well thought out and precise becuase these choices have the ability to impact national and international economies.

Cirtics of this point of view can state that reliance on technology can impact the individual. For example, they might say that texting language and autocorrect make it easier for individuals to disregard learning correct spelling and grammar. Texting language uses shortened versions of words to communicate, which might increase the change for someone to use this language in an educational or professional setting, and autocorrect might make people rely on this feature to correct their spelling and grammar. While in some cases this might hold true, this does not impact society as a whole because there are measures and corporate values that will always hold people's spelling and grammar accountable. For example, corporations and universities will not condone texting language to be used in e-mails and memos, therefore making it hard for individuals to fall completely indolent. Overall, technology helps humans in making the problem solving process more effective and efficient, and does not make their ability to think for themselves deteriorate.