A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The statement being evaluated says that all students should study the same national curriculum until they enter college. colleges and employers require their candidates to have basic skills and knowledge that are aquired during pre-college studies. However, some students may benefit from having an alternate or specialized curriculum, and this is why I somewhat agree with the position.

First off, colleges and universities require their candidates to take standardized tests such as the SAT and ACT. these exams evaluate identical academic skills and knowledge, such as writing and math, across the country. if all students are required to study the same basic curriculum, they will be better prepared for standardized testing. Now, there are cases where students perform poorly on these exams because they were not given the resources, knowledge, and skills to thrive. In this case, the student is not at fault for their lack of knowledge. having a national curriculum will level the playing field and standardized exams score will reflect the student's knowledge and skills, and not merely the product of their environment.

Secondly, even if a student chooses not to go to college, they still benefit from a national curriculum because employers require, at minimum, basic language and math competency. A national curriculm that prepares students for college will benefit the students that are going straight into the workforce. these students will be equipped with the skills that are necessary to thrive in the workplace and, if they choose to, in the case that they decide to go to college.

even though most students will benefit from a national curriculum, there are some students that are benefitted more from having a specialized curriculm. there are some students that have learning disabilities that will need to take the remedial form of a certain class. Depending on the severity of their disability, they might not thrive in a standard classroom environment. Also, students that want to go to a trade school will benefit from having a specialized curriculum that will give them the skills to thrive in the trade they choose. even though there are some students that will not benefit from a national curriculum, it is essential for there to be a national curriculum that focuses on teaching basic academic skills.