We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Human interaction enables us to learn from each other's experiences and perspectives. it is true that we learn from people whose views we share, but contrairy to the statement above, which says that we learn "much more" from those whose views we share, huamans have the capability to learn more from those whose views contradict our own. this holds true as long as there is mutual respect and peace in the interaction between both parties.

First of all, learning is not the equivalent of changing; one is able to learn about another point of view without changing their position on the subject matter. Take the example of the paradoxical views of the politically conservative and the politcally liberal. Historically, these two groups speak ill of each other and hold opposite opinions when it comes to politically charged subjects such as same sex marriage and immigrant rights. if two people, one who is liberal and one who is conservative, talk about same sex marriage or immigrant rights in a civil manner, then they will learn something new about the other's perspective. In this example, they will learned something that they might have not learned if they were talking to other people that hold the same views.

Secondly, "views" does not need to pertain to morality. For example, individuals working on a group project for school or work can benefit from each other and create a superior product if they have contradictory views. different views bring different ideas to the table, and after each member is heard and acknowledged, the team can bounce ideas off each other until they reach a consensus on how to tackle the project at hand. In comparison, when a team is comprised of individuals that have the same views on how to tackle the project, then there is little to no room for creative solutions and the efficiency of project development will not be as high as it could be.

some critics of my view would state that one learns more from someone with similar values becuase it is burdensome to speak to and reach a consensus with someone with contradicting views. while this might hold true in some cases, this argument pertains to respect and open-mindness and has nothing to do with leanring from someone else. using the examples above, if someone that is liberal does not listen and respect the opinion of someone that is conservative, then they will come to a standstill and the conversation will be unproductive. To remedy this problem, one must always respect the opinions of another becuase while one might not agree, one can always learn.