Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Within that group of people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been we

An argument presented here by the author, though sounds convincing at a first glance, doesn't make a cogent case and is bound with many holes and assumptions, and needs to be evaluated carefully considering various circumstances and factors.

First of all, the assumption that the people who met with an accident and were sent to the emergency room, we need to evaluate first the cause of the accident. Author assumes that those met with an accident were not wearing protective equipments when the accident happened. It may be the case that the people met with the accident were all wearing protective knee caps or other equipments, but were hit by some vehicle. This undermines the explicitely stated claim for the requirement of investing more into the protective equipments. Another possibility is that, the person who met with the accident was not skating in the predefined area for skating, but on some other location not suitable or safe for skating, like any hilly area or cliff or any under construction road on which holes are dug and the skater might have fallen into the pit by himself.

Moreover, the author further states another report regarding the accidents that 75 percent of those who met with the accident were in accidental zone of streets and parking lots and were found not wearing the protective shields or light reflecting equipments when met with the accident.The possiblity that seriously undermines this statement is that the person met with the accident was in the parking lot after parking his vehicle, just removed his protective clothing and was hit by a another car. Another is although the person had been wearing protective equipment and was practicing skating or was just a beginner, who fallen by himself while practicing, or might had hit a car or wall by himself.

Furthermore, the reliabilty of the hospital reports should also be taken into consideration for a more thorough interpretation of incidents.

In conclusion, it is every citizen's responsibility to not only keep himself safe but also the other people around him, to lessen accidents and damage to any kind of property. This statement, although has some major assumptions and holes, suggests a safer perspective for the particular sports.