Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands were extinct. Previous archaeological findings have suggested t

The arrival of humans on the Kaliko Islands, based on the evidence given, might explain the extinction of the large mammal species but a few alternative factors could be thought of to explain this trend.

Firstly, within three thousand years of the arrival of humans on the Kaliko Islands, the large mammal species went extinct.

Surely we can say that when a foreign species is introduced in to a new area, due to abundance of prey, the new species can certainly wipe out the local species. But in the above case, there are certain factors which can also play a role in the extinction of the large mammal species, namely, decline in population long before the arrival of humans. The local population of large mammal species could have already been in a decline due to either scarcity of prey or overabundance of competitors. For example, it has been documented that various large species have died out due to the scarcity of prey or the prey moving to other places in search of safety. Another critical factor could be the inadvertent introduction of new and foreign diseases by the humans which could be have been instrumental in slowly killing of local large mammal species which when combined with the humans hunting these same mammals could have killed of the species.

Additionally, the mention of numerous sites in the Islands where bones of fish were discarded is important. Specifically the description of bones as belonging to fish, proves the ambiguity related to extinction of large mammals species. We do not know about how dependent, the humans were on fishing. It could have been their primary source of food thus point being that it does not link fishing and the extinction of large mammal species. The absence of plant sources as food is also duly noted. Either the plants growing in the Kaliko Islands were not consumable or humans at that point of time preferred meat.

Finally, the point of archaeologists uncovering simple tools such as the stone knives is inconsequential. The hunting of large mammal species requires larger tools such as spears due to the fact that stone knives require the wielder to go closer to the animal to attack and hurt said animal which can retaliate and hurt the humans.

The extinction of large mammal species could be attributed to the humans but not in a significant way that the only culprits were humans. There would have been certain factors that also influenced the survival of these mammal species.