The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disag

The statement claiming that the general welfare of a nation's people is a better indicator is partially right. The nation is comprised of different types of people who are interested in various different activities. These activities are indicative of whether the general populace is satisfied, happy and feels safe to pursue these activities.

Rulers, artists and scientists are all representatives of their nation. Their achievements are indicative of the state of the nation. These factions, especially scientists and artists, can only prosper if they are given the proper support and are actively encouraged to undertake these endeavors. Taking the example of India. In India many parents actively encourage their wards to study hard and pursue a doctors' or an engineers' degree. But in doing so, the students are discouraged from participating in sports. Also discouraged are the fields of arts such as music or dance, considering these as merely hobbies rather than serious professional careers. So the outcome is that these wards when they grow up and start working, they will have a greater chance of accomplishing in fields which are traditionally considered serious such as engineers or doctors.

Now, the general welfare of a country depends on three things. First is the safety of the citizens. How safe do the citizens perceive themselves as? is a very pertinent question. The citizens might also feel that the justice mechanisms might be failing. Another factor is whether the citizens' needs and wants are met. Finally the welfare of the people might lie in whether the people feel that they can pursue their dream or not. These are all pertinent factors in determining the welfare of the nation.

Hence I will disagree with the statement that the general welfare of the nation's people is a better indicator of that nation's greatness.