True success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you ta

On a superficial level, this statement is completely true and I agree to it. But if we think about the statement on

a deeper level, this statement has certain flaws that hinder it from being completely true.

What exactly is true success? When we think of this question the first thought that arises is, it depends on the person, his goals and his aspirations. With this thought, the above statement is proven right. But if we think a little more on this subject, we realize that we also have to take into account whether the end result of that person's goals lead to happiness, that is the true meaning of success. That person might have set goals to be filthy rich in a decade or he/she will have a mansion by the time he turns fifty. But do these goals really give a person true success? according to me, no. These goals are basically a means to an end. Everyone person sub-consciously seeks happiness. He could obtain that happiness through his work, he could obtain it through his family or/and he could obtain it through his hobbies.

But the argument suggesting that the above statement cannot be dismissed based on just defining what true success is to a person. There are external factors, which also influence how successful a person will be in his endeavors. Nowadays monetary matters are also important to be financially independent and also be happy. You might ask how? the answer is due to the rising costs of food and healthcare and social endeavors basically the rising costs of living a person needs

to make sure he has sufficient funds to go through his daily needs such as food, transport, his sanitary needs and so on and so forth. This does not take into account that he will have people such as his parents, his children and his spouse depending on him to provide for them. These also dictate how hard the person has to work to provide for his family. Now we can using this example show that true success for this person will be seeing the happiness of his spouse and children and the proud look on his parents face when they see their child succeed in his/her life.

There are some minority section of people who tie their happiness directly to money. These people will work day and night to earn astronomical amounts of money because it gives them satisfaction.

In conclusion, we can say that on a superficial level the statement, 'True success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself' is true but with greater thought we can say that there are certain other factors which also determine what true success means for different people.