Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands had become extinct. Yet humans cannot have been a factor in the species' extinctions, because there is no evidence that the humans had any significant contact with the mammals. Further, archaeologists have discovered numerous sites where the bones of fish had been discarded, but they found no such areas containing the bones of large mammals, so the humans cannot have hunted the mammals. Therefore, some climate change or other environmental factor must have caused the species' extinctions.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the author concludes that it must be some climate change or other environmental factors that have caused the species’ extinctions in the Kaliko Islands. To validate this conclusion, the author cites the following fact about: there is a lack of evidence on significant contact between humans and the mammals; archaeologists found no sites containing bones of large mammals. Close examination of evidence and the assumptions, however, reveals that none can lend credible support to the argument.

Firstly, given the unfortunate lack of evidence on direct contact between humans and mammals, the author assumes that humans should not be the reason for the extinctions. However, this depends on the additional assumption that there won’t be an indirect influence due to the absence of significant contact. In all likelihood, when humans first arrived in Kaliko, they occupied large amounts of land for farming, which took up space and resources previously enjoyed by the mammals and gradually caused their extinct. In this way, human activities lead to the extinction of the mammals even though there is no straight contact between them. In order to reinforce the argument, the author has to present more information which can effectively exclude the possibility of indirect influences of humans on the mammals.

Secondly, the author points out that no areas containing the bones of large mammals were found by archaeologists while there are numerous sites containing fish bones. However, a problematic conclusion that humans have never hunted mammals is derived from the fact. Since the author falsely assumes that the absence of mammal bones implies that mammals are not in the diet of the hunters, he must neglect the possibility that instead of gathering all the large bones together, hunters ate the preys wherever they found them. While, on the contrary, they tend to collect fish before eating them, given the convenience of carrying the much smaller preys. In this case, without any credence to bolster the argument, the author could not indisputably indicate that humans have not hunted the mammals.

Thirdly, even if there is no significant contact between men and mammals and even if humans do indeed never hunt on mammals, the conclusion is still dubious because it is based on an unstated assumption that no other factors besides human and environment can be the cause of the extinction. It is entirely possible that a new kind of disease among the mammals had broken out during the 3000 years after the arrival of human, which caused thousands of deaths and eventually wiped out the mammal species. Moreover, the extinctions can also be the consequence of severe competitions between the species, most less competitive species gradually died out in the years. Therefore, adjusting the assumption is of great necessity.

To sum up, the author fails to substantiate his claim that the environmental factors must cause the extinction of the mammals. To reinforce it, the author would have to present a meticulous discussion on both direct and indirect contacts between men and mammals; he would also have to revise his assumptions on whether humans have hunted the mammals and what other factors could be responsible for the extinction. Therefore, if the argument had included the given factors discussed above, it would have been more thorough and logically acceptable.