53. In order for any work of art—for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song—to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Any work of art can only have merit when it is understandable to most people, as the speaker asserts. Admittedly, in some areas of art, it is of vital importance if the product of art is intelligible. Yet there are still many cases in which art pieces are celebrated not just for its readability, but for their other feats. Examples in perspective of films, novels and painting can be used to illustrate the ideas above.

It is undeniable that the ability to be understood by most people serves as a major advantage when evaluating commercial films. In today’s film industry, the production of a well-organized commercial film requires large amounts of time and investment, thus the director should make efforts to make his work popular. Take James Cameron for example, the grandiose picture and fathomable plots in his talented masterpiece Titanic not only helped broke the box office record, but also made James an Oscar winner of the year. If Cameron had decided to make Titanic an abstruse film, it would be sure that the movie company will lose money and the director himself will be in no compare to the status he enjoys today.

However, in the area of novels, a great work of literature does not necessarily have to be understandable to most people. When writers seek to depict a certain group of people, or a certain period of time, there are plenty of methods for them that can help them create an atmosphere they are to establish. Some of the methods, such as the applying of memories, myths and tales, can inevitably make their work less readable, yet rather valuable. For example, Ulysses by James Joyce, Remembrance of the Things Past by Marcel Proust, and One Hundred Years of Solitude by Garcia Marcos. All of these classic novels are appreciated widely and the merits within them stand as a monument in the history of literature, even though most people may find it hard to understand them.

Obviously, the value of paintings can also not be diminished while they are difficult to understand somehow. Painters, especially those considered as impressionism, are usually emotional and striking when using colors. As a result, their work can sometimes be rather personal which make it difficult to truly understand what they are trying to convey. Van Gogh, though admired nowadays, had never earned the fame he deserved during his lifetime. In his famous work Wheat Field, he unconventionally used red and blue to create a fierce contradict, which turned out to be too experimental to be understood by his contemporaries. However, the true merits in his work are not belied, the skills are appreciated widely nowadays.

To sum up, the ability to be understood by most people is of great importance for commercial films, however, it does not always hold true when it comes to novels and paintings. After close examination of the claim, we can conclude that the idea that the speaker asserts is tenuous in certain perspectives.