In order for any work of art—for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song—to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your re

“The principles of true art is not to portray but evoke.” – Jerzy Kosinki. Art is a form which could not be understood and still felt. Art is something abstract yet tangible. The prompt recommends that for any artistic piece would have merit only if the piece is comprehensible by a large group of people. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this suggestion and argue that even an obscure piece of art can hold merit for three reasons.

To begin, it is possible that the particular piece of art is designed to be appreciated by particular clique. For instance, a revolutionary, first ever of this category film is made where the scientists explain how rockets are made. A common layperson might find it extremely boring to sit through the jargon filled film of four hours! But, a person who has similar interest for example a neophyte scientist might find it extremely fascinating and interesting. This shows that a piece of art not understandable by everyone still holds merit for the faction interested in them.

Furthermore, some art is not supposed to be understood, it should just evoke the relevant feelings. For example, a sad song – the gloomy tunes won’t appeal to everyone. The slow tunes might solace a sad person who might have been embittered. Whereas, a person who is jubilant might find the slow beats downright distasteful and even think what kind of repugnant music the composer has made. The above example illustrates that a piece of art (a sad song) did not need to be understood by everyone but the relevant person who is calmed down by the mollifying music.

Some might argue that merit is money. But, is it really all about money? Probably the artist feels relished by the completion of his art work instead of inciting praises from others. Instead negative or critical opinion might make him/her end up hating his own piece. Merit is a very subjective term which varies from person to person. Also, who judges if the piece of art has merit? Does popularity mean merit? I don’t think so. The artist can choose to cherish his art piece in the way he/she feels suitable.

In conclusion, it is the context that gives the artistic piece merit and not the widespread comprehensibility of the populace. It is imperative to view the piece from a particular angle if someone wants to identify the merit of an art and not everyone understands which angle to look from. In my opinion, every piece is unique and warrants merit.