Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing a

“One of the very important characteristics of a student is to question. Let the students ask questions.” – A. P. J. Abdul Kalam. Questioning are an essential skill that every student must learn. The prompt recommends that students should always question instead of just accepting things at face value. I mostly agree with this claim. I will provide a reason why it is not essential to ‘always’ question and in contrast provide two reasons as to why a student should question.

In our tradition (Indian traditions), often questions are responded with snarky remarks from the person we are asking questions to. For example, we are told to do some things at face value, like worshipping the God. But, when further inquisitions are made about why this is done, we aren’t given a proper answer. It is also known that adults know better than children. Although it might seem paradoxical at one point to do something without asking or complaining, we eventually learn the merits behind our actions. It is also possible that their snarky reactions are because they don’t understand the question or they don’t have an answer.

However, questions promote an inquisitive mind. Someone, who asks questions will be at better odds in understanding the topic than passively just accepting the content just provided to them. This question asking develops a unique skill and when is the right time to hone it? We think the teachers are erudite people able to answer everything we throw at them. Sometimes, this proves wrong but it shows to us that everyone is just human in the end.

Moreover, questions help clear doubts. A doubt can be a nettlesome bug that resides in our brain and keeps us from functioning. For example, a student might be trying really hard to solve a question. He thinks of different possibilities from what he has learnt. Instead of now giving up, thinking he/she cannot solve this. They may just ask the teacher for help. This also provided a very valuable lesson, sometimes a third perspective is needed to fix a conundrum.

To conclude, the student should ask the question at the right moment and not just randomly, for example when the teacher is teaching so they don’t disturb the teacher’s flow or the other students. But a student should always ask whenever he has a doubt in his mind to just clear his thought process. Hence, it is essential that a student asks questions and not accept things as they are taught.