Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as

The study suggests that the increased use of salicylates will result in gradually lowering amount of headaches in Mentia. The study has come to this conclusion based on the chemical family of Salicylates and a rise in the commercial use of this chemical as a preservative. However, before this study may actually prove to be true, but it suffers from flaws in reasoning that severely undermines its credibility. Thus, the argument should provide three pieces of evidences.

First, evidence regarding Salicylates actually having the same effects on headaches as aspirin. It is possible that even though they are from the same chemical family Salicylates does not alleviate headaches but instead exacerbate them. It is also possible that Salicylates have little to trivial effects towards a headache. If either of these cases have merit, then the conclusion drawn from the original argument is significantly weakened.

Second, evidence regarding the amount of Salicylates used as food preservatives. The argument prematurely assumes that sufficient amount of Salicylates is used in the preservatives which would mitigate headaches - perhaps Salicylates are used in trace amount while making the preservatives. It is also possible that, Salicylates when made into compounds by mixing it with different chemicals will lose its efficacy as a chemical that assuages headaches. If the above is true, the conclusion does not hold water.

Third, evidence concerning the practical usage of salicylates as flavoring agents. Maybe, the flavoring agents made using salicylates are not as palatable as the ones using other chemicals. This might actually cause a decrease in revenue and prevent companies from using it as flavoring agents. It also could be expensive to make flavoring agents using salicylates preventing the food processing companies from looking it as a viable option to make the flavoring agents. It is also possible that an excessive amount of salicylates may have deleterious effects towards one health. It is already found by the study that the foods in general are inherently high in this chemical and more consumption be detrimental. Thus, before proper evaluation of the argument, this evidence must be gathered.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the study is able to provide the above states evidences, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the correlation between the decrease in headaches with increased passage of time.