49. Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or dis

“I’m still learning.” – Michelangelo. Learning is a lifelong process – learning never stops for a human who are intellectual beings and have a thirst for knowledge. Learning is usually the first step to any process: be it walking or making a rocket which makes it possible for mankind to step on the moon. The prompt suggests that we learn faster from someone who shares similar ideals of our own rather than a someone who has different views. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this topic which trivializes the learning aspect for three critical reasons.

To begin, learning is not dependent on whether you have similar ideals to someone. “Keep your friend closer and your enemies closer.” This is a very popular quote which tells us that we could learn much more from enemies rather than from the people who share our ideals with. For example, an army general after resounding defeat at the hand of his enemy decides to change his formation for the next battle. However, if he’s learning the same lesson from his teacher, he may not take the opinion so seriously. Instead, what he learns faster is the defeat. This example though very specific is very relevant to us too. We learn faster from mistakes rather than when we are just spoon fed some morale values.

Moreover, it is quite possible that the person whose views are similar to you is already on the wrong track. Not only will you be learning wrong things or might make the same mistakes yourself. For instance, a teenager idolizes a popstar – a person the teenager wants to become when he grows up. The teen researches everything about that person’s habit from what the popstar eats to what he/she wears. It is possible that the popstar has bad eating habits and he/she does not actually care about his health because they have already reached illustriousness. Now, not only the influence of learning from someone with similar views will cause the demise of the teenager but he/she will keep going down the wrong path until and unless someone from the opposite view point, points it out to the teen. This shows us that we can go down the part of decline if we blindly learn from the people who just share the same views with us.

Finally, sometimes a different perspective is important. If we keep looking at something from the same angle will make sterile and rigid in their manner of thinking. Let’s observe the following illustration: would you learn faster if you find the content you are learning is almost similar to what you know – because you share similar views – or from a person who is talking about a totally different content. The most picked choice will be the latter one. This is because the difference creates a void of intelligence which can be filled much more easily rather than perfecting a bridge which is almost perfect to the point you have to find small blemishes to even progress a little. This illustration shows that it’s not the person who shares the closest view can provide you with the most learning knowledge.

Obviously, sometimes it possible one learns faster from a person who shares similar views. The best example for this will be the teacher – student relation for so many different art forms: music, sports, etc. The similar view point is helpful here because the student is willing to learn the craft from his/her teacher.

To conclude, learning is a process which cannot be confined by saying that we can learn much more from someone who shares similar views as shown by the above discussion. One should aim to learn from anything one can find in the world, be it an ant or a lion and never stop learning.