Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your r

“It takes many good deeds to build a good reputation, and only one bad one to lose it.” - Benjamin Franklin. With the usage of internet at an all-time high, a person’s denigrate image spreads like a wildfire while a good image takes a lot to nurture. Although, the image is very important but there is some truth behind the argument mentioned. People wear masks and lie to each other just to show how virtuous they are. In my opinion, I strongly agree that it is extremely vital to have a veneer image in today’s times for two reasons along with a reason as to why one should avoid doing this.

To begin, everything about a person in today’s savvy world is a few button clicks away, anything, someone posts will stay perpetually on the cloud – internet – not even if someone is thinking that I can easily delete what I’ve put up. For example, a lot of teenagers now earn money via ad revenue generated by the followers who visit their website, profile, channel, etc. This makes it imperative for the person to maintain a flawless image to generate money, even a small fiasco promotes a smear campaign in which there is no future left for the teenager. There are certainly cases where some devious people actually use a bad image to gain popularity and reach the same image but not everyone has the mettle to do that. This example illustrates the importance of maintaining an appealing image.

Moreover, in today’s world everything is usually taken at face value until and unless someone points that this is wrong. For instance, in India, a famous company called Maggi – makes noodles, used carcinogenic substances while making their products. Until, another company actually researched on this malign actions of this huge conglomerate they were generating a revenue in billions. This food item was cheap and easily available and hence the go to food for any hungry Indian. But, after this debacle, people actually started boycotting the company. This illustration shows us that an image alone manages to make the second most populated country in the world willingly consume junk! It was only after someone found something suspicious which actually damaged the image, that the company was forced to sell such deleterious food.

However, it is not always important to maintain this false image, especially with your closed ones. They are someone who you trust. For example, if you keep a high and mighty image, they might think you are doing fine. But, only if you show them what you are actually facing they will try to help you. They’re not omniscient, you need to tell them, the world is not full of happiness but there are instances where anyone can falter and this your closed ones are the place where you can draw strength from. It is sometimes appropriate to show your weak image but only in certain situations.

To sum up, this is a complex topic and it can also be to everyone’s preferences – someone might just choose to ignore what his/her image is in front of others. But, for others this could also be source of livelihood like online influencers who use this to attract new followers and make money. It is not limited to them but also companies who people expect to have a good image to buy from. Sadly, it is the cruel truth of today that a good image is an essential tool for anyone who wants to succeed.