When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used public park in town.It is still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used.Video cameras mounted in the park's parking lots last month revealed the park's drop in popularity: th

The proposition concludes that to increase the popularity of Stanley Park, the park needs to provide some extra salient features in the form of seating. This conclusion is arrived on the basis on comparison with another park called Carlton Park and the ample seating provided by them. However, while to conclusion drawn by the author might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the following three unstated assumptions need to be examined.

First of all, the assumption that Stanley Park and Carlton Park analogous. The author assumes that circumstances from one park can be used to make generalizations and predictions about the other. It is possible that Stanley Park and Carlton Park are not similar at all – perhaps the decrease in popularity of Stanley Park is because Carlton Park is near residential neighborhoods, whereas the former one is located in rural areas which is harder to reach. Further, there is a possibility the features of Carlton Park are more than that of Stanley Park: free Wi-Fi, better running tracks, etc. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the assumption that the number of cars determines the popularity of Stanley Park. Maybe, because of the high popularity with families, several families decide to go together and hence rent a bus (no parking for buses in parking lots) instead of car which can provide them with cheaper transport. Moreover, the park may be providing incentives for bigger groups and hence enticing the use of buses. It is also possible that the parking lots are very expensive and this makes the visitors park their vehicles in a different yet cheaper parking lot. If any of the cases above are true means the author is grossly misjudging the popularity of the park based on number of cars in the parking lot.

Finally, the assumption that adequate seating is going to increase the popularity of the park. It is possible that, the facilities in the park have become old – the swings the children used to enjoy are broken or the running track is rampant with overgrown shrubbery. It is possible that, most of the seats in Carlton Park remain unoccupied throughout the time the park is open, but there are other reasons which make the park so popular. Hence, the author cannot conclude without evidence that increasing seating will result in more visitors.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now is severely flawed due its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide more evidence perhaps in the form of a scientific study that searing correlates to popularity or that the number of cars in a parking lot indicate the number of visitors, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the ways in which Stanley Park can increase the waning demand.