Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Scientific research and development is our gateway to the future. Government should be concerned with what is being researched on and developed in their respective countries. A research can lead to both good and bad results and hence I think that government should place restrictions for the following two reasons.

First, the influence of human touch is extremely dangerous in any field. Humans can be greedy and that results to sever consequences. For example, a famous incident where Lance Armstrong – a cyclist – was caught doping. This example connects in a way that shows humans go to any lengths to reach their goal. Industries will try to research into dangerous weapons and might even produce something which is more dangerous than the nuclear bomb! Or, experiments of humans might begin which has several strict restrictions as of now. Even though, it would help us learn more about humans, but at what cost?

Moreover, there are restrictions already in place. These restrictions work just fine as we our everyday world getting revolutionized at a break taking rate that we are inured to the process. For example, button phones are obsolete and almost every phone has a touch screen. The upcoming breakthrough is the bending phone where one can literally bend the phone! It’s still in early development stages and still lacking. These all have been built with the government restrictions. One can even appeal to the government if certain restrictions are truly a hindrance. The restrictions are here to protect us from ourselves.

Although, there are a few advantages of doing away with the restrictions. “Only those who risk going too far can possibly find out how far one can go.” – TS Elliot. We could have faster but unmoderated development. There would be more people willing to invest in this sector.

To conclude, this issue is actually very complex and there are no simple answers. I feel moderation is always good but some people break the already present restrictions. I mostly agree that restrictions should be present for the above mentioned reasons. But some countries, might choose to forgo them in temptation of faster progress.