The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries, as the speaker asserts. Admittedly, in certain areas, people fail to recognize the greatness of pioneers in their time. Yet there are still many cases where the achievement of the great people are appreciated by their contemporaries. Examples in perspectives of art, science, and politics can be used to illustrate the ideas above.

When it comes to deciding the greatness of pioneers in art, people in their era often fail to recognize the merits in their fantastic work. We have to admit that a piece of art can sometimes be very elusive. It usually contains a strong emotion of the artist himself which is hard to understand for the public. Take the post-impressionism artist Van Gogh for example. Though being well-known nowadays, Van Gogh was merely an impecunious painter in his time. When he first created his famous Wheat Field, people were so uncomfortable with the blue and red colors he used and the way he organized them. It took a long time for critics to finally realize how the colors served to express an ambivalent feeling and how gifted Van Gogh and his work were.

Yet, the phenomenal in a single area can not represent many other situations. Since many scientific discoveries can make great changes to society directly, it is safe to claim that the greatness of scientists can be decided by their contemporaries. In physiology, Tu Youyou, the female Chinese pharmacists, is an agreeable example for the argument. Having discovered artemisinin, she was laureate the Nobel Prize in chemistry for saving millions of people suffering from malaria. Her greatness was recognized by her contemporaries without a doubt. In computer science, the example of Bill Gates inventing the widespread Windows system and his well-established fame can also be sufficient enough to draw the conclusion that the greatness of individuals can be decided by the people living in their time.

Obviously, this statement is also substantiated in other areas. Considering the greatness of political leaders, it is always the people who live in their tenure of office that can best evaluate their achievement because the contemporaries benefit most from an effective policy conducted by the leader. During the Great Depression, the president of the states R. D. Roosevelt helped the country overcome the economic crisis by conducting the New Deal. The steady development of economics and the significant fall in unemployment rate made him one of the most beloved presidents in American history. If not appreciated by the contemporaries, on the contrary, the political leader may be condemned by the people and therefore never judged fairly.

To sum up, the statement overlooks the ability to recognize the greatness of a pioneer of the contemporaries. Though seems verified in perspective of art, the statement is tenuous in areas of science and politics.