Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

It is necessary for political leaders to withhold information from the public, as some people assert, while others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed. Admittedly, information related to military and political confidential is supposed to be withheld by the government. However, there are other cases in which the information should not be kept a secret, such as the living issues of people and the decision-making of the country.

It is undeniable that classified information should not be informed to the public. The military information, for example, can be extremely crucial to a country because it can sometimes determine the end of a war. In 1944, the army of the allied nations landed on Normandy before the Nazis realized it. Though at great lost, the surprising attack laid the groundwork for the final victory of World War II. But if the information that the army would attack Normandy on D-day had been announced to the public before the invasion, it would be totally another story. The Nazis would be more prepared without a doubt, which leads to much more uncertainties in the long term.

Yet, when it comes to the livelihood of the people, I strongly believe that the public has a right to be fully informed. As the political leader of a country, the government should take responsibility to guarantee the overall welfare of the people, which requires it to inform people about the problem they care most, living issues. Back in 2008 in China, when SANLU milk powder was found responsible for certain diseases of babies, the government did not take immediate actions including informing the public. As a result, the uninformed parents still bought the problematic milk powder and caused irreversible effects on their babies.

Obviously, the claim that people should be informed is also appropriate in issues related to the decision-making of the government, given that people should be involved in governing the country in democracy. Take Brexit for example, when the government of British was faced with a dilemma that whether they should exit the Europe Union, it was not the government alone to make the big decision. On the contrary, it is the people who participate in the Brexit vote who finally made a decision on exiting the Union. Otherwise, the government may make a decision which is against the people’s will.

In sum, it is entirely possible that political leader withholds classified information from the public. However, considering other perspectives like livelihood and decision-making issues, it is the government’s responsibility to keep its people well informed.