In order for any work of art—for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song—to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

To decide what mostly qualify the merit of an artwork, the speaker indicates that the major factor is whether most people can understand the work. However, the speaker seems to have ignored the extent to which a definition of merit can vary. Namely if an artist regard the ability to profit as major merit of his work, then the importance of understandability by mass is obvious, on the contrary, the certain significance declines if the artist addresses a more spiritual expression as virtue.

Admittedly,when in the form of popular culture, artwork like comics have to be accessible to majorities , since whose value is closely associated to how far-reaching the work is. The second decade of 21 century has witnessed the compelling success of superhero comics, by examining the feature of such stories, we can safely draw the conclusion that it is the easy plots and vivid characters that matters. Since the production of comics centrally fixes on one goal, which is making considerable profits, an obscure work limited to small portion of readers will definitely fail the job. In another word, if one considers merit of an artwork narrowly as commercial success, then being understandable becomes a necessity.

However, the notion that artwork must follow the pattern as understandable to masses is constrained in the field of popular culture, which surely suffers disputes when referring to the film industry. Besides making money, films can also serve a perfect role as tools to express private emotions in the right hand. One of the greatest directors in the history, Andrei Tarkovsky was obsessed with his childhood and religion issues, and intended to make his movies in an arcane and symbolic way. Some settings in the films seem to have nothing to do with the obvious plot, though actually they usually have deeper meanings which is difficult for common audience to discern. The aesthetic value of Tarkovsky’s work suffered nothing from its nature of esoteric, on the contrary, they reflect a sensitive expression of human emotion and is beloved by many.

The conclusion holds true as well when it comes to literature like novels and poems. Although ambiguous metaphors and complexing structures of sentences some writers in favor of can be demanding for normal readers, reading such work become somewhat a n intriguing intelligent challenge for professional readers. The masterpiece of James Joyce, Ulysses, is extremely prolix and whose story isn’t based on a logical sense but an inspiration. Additionally, the book is replete with metaphor about Ireland history, making it even harder for a foreign reader to understand. However, despite all these obstacles, Ulysses might be the greatest novel in 20th century, from which a trained reader can find not only the author’s genius ideas about art and life, but also a salute to the origin of literature, Odyssey by Greek poet Homer.

To sum up, the speaker’s assertion seems true considering certain form of art who is aimed to achieve market success. However, the merit of art does not limited in its ability to make money, when serving as a tool of the artists to express themselves, it is unnecessary to fulfill the requirement of being understandable.