The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the article, the author demonstrates a recent study, which shows an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Reasoning that the amount of sleep is a key factor to success and profits, the author makes an assertion that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night. However, this recommendation may seem dubious since thorough examination reveals lack of certain evidence and vital flaws in the author’s assumption.

Firstly, the sample of the cited study are 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives, from whom it is problematical to draw the later conclusion. The studied executives might be too specific to represent all the employees in advertising business, while the author unfortunately assume the opposite. Possibilities are that the mentioned executives occupy only a small portion of the whole group, and there are staff who are less indefatigable and need a proper amount of sleep. Even if all members in advertising industry share the same situation, there is no guarantee that other industries follow the pattern as well. For example, it is crucial for a pilot to have adequate rest and therefore they can stay alert during flight, thus hiring pilots with less sleep time can be a extremely perilous and irresponsible decision. To reinforce his statement, the author need to provide a much more comprehensive data.

Secondly, it is the association between the amount of sleep and the success of the executives’ firms that help the author find the apparent causality. However, the author should notice that an association in data could be misleading and it cannot determine which factor is the actual cause. Obviously, from the study adduced in the article, it is entirely possible that the success of the firms is the reason to the inadequate sleep of executives, since successful company may have more work for the employees to handle. Additionally, there can be no direct connection between sleep and success at all, suppose an international big city is the true key to success, and meanwhile residents of such cities have a habit to stay up late. In combination, this will produce an association between amount of sleep and success, but actually, these two factors have nothing to do with each other. Research specifically aimed at the relationship between sleeping time and success of firms needs to be done in order to indicate the likely causality.

Finally, is it reasonable to suggest companies should only hire person who need less sleep if all the problems discussed above are solved. Admittedly, this may help with the efficiency and therefore increase the profits, but profits should not be the only issue to consider about when running a business. In many countries, relevant laws have been made to assure certain rights of employees, namely the work time per week should be held within a certain amount. By recommending hiring based on sleeping time, it simultaneously encourages extra working beyond legitimate working hours, which strongly violates the rights of workers. One may argue that an individual can independently decide whether he would like to sleep less or more, but as long as firms have a preference upon those who are willingly to sacrifice off-work time, the welfare of those who work as law suggests is suffering.

To sum up, the author’s assertion suffers from insufficient evidence and falsely developed reasoning. To make it more persuasive, the author need to offer studies with samples more representative and convincing, and the research should be aimed closely to the relationship between sleeping time and success of company. If all the goals are fulfilled, however, I personally disapprove such suggestions cause it will bring considerable impairment to workers’ rights.