The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The speaker indicates that whether a man or a woman can be decided as great is only up to those who live afterwards, instead of those living in the same period. It is true that some of the greatest minds only began to gain fame and recognition after their own death. However, this claim does seem somewhat superficial considering that the speaker seems to have overlooked the field one works in.

Admittedly, to decide whether an artwork is good or not largely depends on the taste of the era, which differentiates over time. For instance, there were artists whose style never became popular during their lifetime, thus making it impossible for their contemporaries to decide their greatness. Take the example of the great post-impressionism artist Van Gogh, though renowned for his genius nowadays, was an impecunious painter in his own time, because he was a downright pioneer then and his time was not ready for the style of his works, let alone judging them. However, artists who are fortunate enough to fit the favor of mainstream can surely be judged by their peers. The realistic style of Da Vinci’s work was prevalent during the Renaissance years, so Da Vinci could well appreciated in his time and gain his deserved fame.

Discussing the speaker’s assertion in the context of art might reveal a character of duality, while this is not always true when it comes to other areas. Since science discoveries can largely change contemporary life, we can safely draw the conclusion that a great scientist can be fairly appreciated by his peers. The Chinese agricultural scientist Longping Yuan devoted most of his life producing hybrid rice, and his success directly solved the urgent food problem in China. Yuan’s work can not only actually be witnessed by large proportion of people, but also bring much benefit to his society, which in combination make him one of the greatest scientist in modern China, during his own time.

The conclusion we draw when discussing scientists is also substantiated for great politicians. The greatest politicians are always those who make decent achievement in their job and fairly change people’s lives for good. Directly affected by the decisions of the leader, the people are the most rightful expert to decide the greatness of their leader. Xiaoping Deng, the designer of the reform and opening-up policy in China, made the country’s economy grow rapidly due to his tenacity to push forward the reform. Deng was then considered one of the greatest leader since he brought great betterment to people’s life condition. Nevertheless, there are leaders failing to accomplish needs of their people, and thus be characterized as incompetent by their contemporaries, namely the French emperor Louis XVI.

To sum, though it seems sometime a great person only acquire recognition after his or her death, it is unreasonable to draw the conclusion that greatness cannot be decided by one’s contemporaries. The statement of the speaker is partly true given the fate of some artists, but might meet with hinders when considering area like science or political.