"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid—a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil—as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this report,the writer argues that fish is useful to prevent cold and recommends lchthaid which derived from fish oil can prevent colds and lower absenteeism.To further support his/her recommendation,the writer describes a study in nearby East Meria,where fish consumption is very high,people visit doctor less for treatment of colds.Besides,he provide the evidence that colds are the most frequently reason for absences.While the lchthaid may indeed useful to prevent cold and lower absenteeism,close scrutiny reveals that the conclusion lacks critical support,as a result,we need more evidence to help evaluate the argument.

To start with,more evidence about fish consumption and the attitude of people in East Meria about visiting doctor is needed.That is because the writer believe that high fish consumption means local people eat a large number of meat,and the less number of times people visit doctor for colds means people get less cold.Therefore,the writer made a conclusion that there is a casual relationship between the former and latter.However,it could be wrong.It is likely that there is a lchthaid factory consume a large amount of fish.Besides,may due to high hospital fee or think cold is a small problem ,people in East Meria would not prefer to visit doctor.If new evidence suggest this,the writer’s argument will be considerably weaken.

In addition,more evidence are needed to help us evaluate whether it could lower absenteeism of students and workers. If new evidence shows that students and workers use colds as an excuse for absence,then the writer’s argument will be weaken.On the contrary,new discovery revealing that colds is indeed the main reason of absenteeism would help support the argument.

Even if it is demonstrated that fish is useful to prevent cold and cold is the main reason of absenteeism,we need more information whether the lchthaid are useful as fish and can truly prevent colds.If new discover shows that composition which can prevent colds is derived from fish oil rather than other part of fish,then the writer’s suggestion should be encouraged.In addition,if it could be demonstrated that after artificially process,the ability of prevent cold is still efficient,then the writer’s argument could be more convincing.On the other hand,we must reject writer’s recommendation.

To sum up,the evidence cited by writer does not provide enough conclusive information to make his/her suggestion convincing.As a result,we need more evidence to better evaluate the argument.