(claim)It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero. [Reason] The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished. [Specific Task Instruction: Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.]

In modern society where media coverage is ubiquitous,there is a claim that no living man or woman can be regarded as heroes because their reputation will eventually be diminished by media scrutiny.In my opinion,it is undeniable that media coverage sometimes expose wrong things of heroes,deteriorating their reputation;however,such exposure do not necessary mean a hero’s positive image will collapse,society may still regard them as heroes.

In the first place,no one is flawless.Therefore,if every aspect of one’s life is exposed to the public by the media,some of his or her behaviors might not be accepted as a moral standard of a hero.Besides,media may exaggerate a hero’s negative side in order to gain more publicity.For example,a brave doctor who is willing to take the risk of infection to save others might commit adultery.If it revealed, his reputation would be defamed.In such extreme cases,media scrutiny could focus on this crime,and bias public opinion towards him.

That being said, the argument above assumes that heroes commit crime and media choose to focus on this negative aspect. This assumption,however, could be wrong.With regard of first part, few heroes will commit crime or seriously breach morality.Besides, media may not be willing to waste time on scrutinizing every aspect of a hero due to limited resources and perhaps weak public resonance it can provoke.Media may choose to report the brave behavior the hero take and praise him as a hero of society.Most of people are willing to hear the positive thing happen in the society.Therefore,the media which are inclined to report positive things will not waste time to find the fault of a hero.

Even if the negative aspect of a hero is revealed by media,it is still necessary for society to regard him or her as a hero.To understand this claim,we should revisit the definition of hero.Heroes are those who have particular qualities which are admired by people,such as brave,self-sacrifice,and commitment to public interest. Therefore,as long as those qualities are not proved to be false by the media,heroes can exist despite of their negative aspect.Let’s return to aforementioned imaginary doctor.If he indeed saves people’s live by sacrificing his own ,it’s not surprising at all that he will still be regarded as a hero.It is the contribution which he did that overweight the stain on his character and earn him to the tile of hero.

To summarize,it is true that media scrutiny has the potential to diminish a hero’s reputation.Since people are inherently imperfect,the media could deliberately focus on the negative.However,the media may not necessarily do this,and turn to praise their positive behaviour to attract people’s attention.Even if the media did so, the public would still accept them because they have qualities that a hero need.