“A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of accidents caused by bicycling has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets.”

In the newsletter,the writer presents two studies,one shows the percentage of bicyclists who wearing helmets increased from 35% to 80% during a decade;another indicate that the number of accidents bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent.Then the writer conclude that people wearing a helmet are more likely to take a risk and suggest that government should concentrate less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets.However,the reasoning of this recommendation is unconvincing due to several unsubstantiated assumptions,if proven unwarranted, will seriously challenge writer’s argument.

To start with,the writer’s recommendation heavily relies on the accidents caused by bicyclists who wear helmets and those people will more likely to take risks when driving.Base on this assumption,the writer suggest government not to encourage or require bicyclists to wear helmets.However,this assumption is potentially problematic because we are not informed with the severity of the accidents,nor do we know whether the bicyclists are to blame for these accidents.In addition,we have no idea whether the bicyclists involved in these accidents worn helmets or not.If it turns out that the severity of accidents decreased or bicyclists who wear helmets cause less accidents,then the writer’s recommendation is unconvincing.

Moreover,the writer unfairly assumes that the traffic situation today is same as ten years ago.If there are more cars and bicycles on the roads,and roads became more complex due to country’s development than before,it would not be a surprise to see more accidents than before .Besides,maybe in ten years ago,there is no such things as traffic jams,and it is very normal today.Therefore, wearing helmets would not necessarily the key to more accidents.As a result,the writer’s argument is debatable.

Even if the assumptions mentioned above are valid,the writer’s recommendation may still not be advisable due to the efficiency of education about bicycle safety.We can not be sure that the number of accidents involving bicyclists will decreased after the implement of writer’s recommendation. It is unreasonable to assume that all bicyclists are willing to take the class and government have funds to sponsor this class.what’s more,it is likely that without wearing helmets,the severity of accidents will increase and may lead to death.If these assumptions turn out to be true,then the writer’s advise is questionable.

To sum up,whether or not we should implement the writer’s recommendation depends greatly on the validity of the assumption.If these assumptions are proven unwarranted,then the recommendation will be little more than the writer’s wishful thinking,and we need to consider other solutions to solve the bicycle-related problem.