An international development organization, in
response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished
nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A.
While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid
subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a
staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To
combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do
everything it can to promote this new type of millet.
According to an international development organization, the government of Tagus
should do everything it can to promote the type of millet breed which is supposed
to be high in vitamin A to fight against of the deficiency of it among people. To
make this conclusion, the organization assumes that people of the country will
readily adopt to the new variety of millet and subsidies paid to farmers can inspire
them to cultivate new variety of millet which is expensive. I found this argument
irrational because it rests upon several spurious assumptions.
In the first analysis, the organization asserts to have created the new variety of
millet which is rich in vitamin A without giving validation which seems spurious.
How the organization is so sure about its efficiency without citing any study to
prove so? Also, genetically enhanced species are notorious for making lethal side
effect to its consumer. The organization does not seems to make light on these
prospects. This renders question on his credibility.
Furthermore, the organization assumes that the people of Tagus will readily adopt
to the new variety of millet giving reasoning of being staple food in Thagus.
However since the breed is changed from the original one, that may lead to change
its taste too, people might distaste the new millet. Moreover, the organization
predicts that hypothesis without any survey. This makes the stance of the
organization spurious.
Additionally, the organization itself asserts the expensiveness of the seed of millet
breed but readily maintains that giving subsidies to the farmer afterwards can
balance this problem. As a matter of fact, farmers need money mostly on the time
of their cultivation. f purchase of seed alone can cost that much to them, then what
will make sure that subsidies that will be given to them after farming? Also, the
statement about the subsidies is not made by the government of the country which
is responsible for its farmers, but just a suggestion by the organization. so, there is
no way a farmer can hope for subsidies at all. Thus, here premise is not satisfied by
the organizations.
To sum up, the specious assumption that the organization believes renders lack of
credibility to the argument. To strengthen the argument, the organization should
have taken survey about how people is possibly going to react the new breed, the
government will of paying subsidies to farmer, any other cheap way to eradicate
deficiency problem, study about side effect of the genetically enhanced breed et
cetera.