An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The author states that the government should promote the new type of millet in order to fight the vitamin A deficiency. However, this argument is not entirely feasible as there are many loopholes present within it.

According to the author, government should promote the new type of millet. This new breed is developed by an international organization and so, without testing the new breed on various animals, it would be a great risk to the people. Without testing of the breed, the side-effects of the breed could not be known. Hence, the breed should be tested under a licensed government research center only after which, the drug should be released publicly.

It is stated that millet is already a staple food in Tagus. The author assumes that as millet is already a regular food in Tagus, people would readily agree to consume the new breed of millet. There might be many taste differences as well as cost differences between the two breeds and hence some people might consider to stay on the current food and not to move on with the new breed. Also, people would not be convinced to consume the new breed unless it becomes popular in Tagus.

As mentioned in the argument, the cost of the breed is higher than the conventional millet.Due to the high cost, people would not be ready to purchase a new breed of millet that costs standard than the conventional one. Due to this, the consumption of the new breed of millet might not meet the predictions.

Also, the author assumes that providing subsidies to the farmers to grow the new breed of millet would encourage them to cultivate more stock. But, if the consumption of the new breed does not go as planned by the government, the farmers would be diverted to producing the original millet, which would earn them more profit as it would be consumed on a larger basis than the new breed.

It is lucid from the above information that if the plan of promoting this new type of millet does not go as planned, the government would suffer a major loss of money that it has invested in the campaign, which is not a favorable result. Instead, the government should lay emphasis on promoting free medications for the vitamin A deficiency patients. Doing so will bolster the combat against the vitamin A deficiency in Tagus.