An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

In response to the vitamin A deficiency found among people in the nation of Tagus, a development organization has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. The writer recommends that the country of Tagus should promote the new type of millet to combat vitamin A deficiency. While the argument seems to of sound principle, several questions need to be answered before the predicted result can be achieved.

The development organization has seemingly engineered a new breed of millet loaded with vitamin A. Such a crop is targeted toward the people of Tagus, where vitamin A deficiency is common. The question we must ask in this case is weather or not the crop has any side effects. Since this millet is high in vitamin A, it should not produce malicious effects on people who do not suffer from the deficiency. Vitamin A toxicity is also a serious case involving symptoms such as blurry vision, loss of appetite etc. Promoting such crops might not be prudent of the government as it could cause more problems than it solves.

While the farmers growing the new millet breed are to be paid subsidies, we must know how much will the new breed of millet actually cost. Excessive cost might bankrupt the farmers despite the promised subsidies. Farmers also need to be trained in regards to new crops which might discourage them from adopting the new crop.

The writer also says that that the millet is a staple food in Tagus and people will readily adopt the new variety. Another question that needs to be asked here is whether the new breed of millet is different in any way from the old breed. Any changes in size, shape, color and most importantly, taste will not help people adopt the new millet grain as staple. Once the answers regarding the size and shape of the grain are answered, it might help government of Tagus convince people to consume the new seeds instead.

In conclusion, while the argument made to use the newly engineered seeds is an excellent one, providing certain details might help in achieving the predicted result.