An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

An international development organization proposed to cultivate a new breed of millet containig high Vitamin A to fight vitamin A deficiency in Tagusa and the proposal here is that the goverment should promote it to fight the current situation. This proposal is based on several assumptions. Lets judge the merit of these assumptions to makes a cogent decision.

Here, in the prose it is said that the seeds of the new millet breed are bit more costly. But to encourage the farmers, farming this millet breed will be subsidised. Here the assumption is that the subsidy amount will be good enough to sway the farmers into cultivating the breed. There is no information about the growth of this breed, the amount that can be farmed from the same amount of land compared to the existing breed. The oppotunity cost is the main issue here. If the breed takes more time to grow then the existing breed and the price is not high enough, the farmers might not be interested in it. Also, if the amount of new breed millet grown is significantly less than the existing breed in the same amount of cultivated land, this might discourage the farmers. Thus this questions need to be answered before adopting the new breed and divert goverment fund to promote it. So, this things need to be taken in cosideration before opting for the new breed.

Again, it is said that the new breed of millet is rich in vitamin A. But information on the other nutrients are not expressed here. It is possible that the new breed of this seed might lack other necessary nutrients that the existing breed contains. This might result in a negative situation. Also, It is said here that the people of tangus are very familiar with millet. Thus its adoption will be very easy. But, we do not know for sure if the taste of the millet will remain the same. If it is not, then there is high chance that people will not be very interested in the consumption of this new breed.

Although incorporating vitamin A in a staple food looks to be very promising idea, But there are already many successfully established way of delivering vitamin A to the mass people in a very quick time. There are campaigns for feeding vitamin A capsule in Bangladesh, which has been very successful and the whole program is free as it is subsidised by the government. This program did not need any change in the existing infrastructure which reduced the financial burden on the Bangladesh goverment. The government of Tagus can look into such alternatives. Also, before promoting this new breed it has to be made sure that the new breed is actually high enough in vitamin A to make this decison.

To fight the vitamin A deficiency in Tagus, the new breed of millet is a promising idea. But before adopting it and promoting at goverment level, the complete nutrients and the other farming related requirements need to established. Also, if other means of delivering vitamin A is available, their merit also need to be judged. Only after making all these considerations, the goverment should think where it will be beneficial for Tagus to adopt the new breed of millet.