An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The new breed of millets with high vitamin A would ideally reduce the deficiency observed in the populace of Tagus. While the seeds are subsidised to enable the poor farmers to buy and grow them there are other factors that come into play when we are dealing with food items.<br>When farming a new variety of a plant, there would often be changes in the amount of fertiliser or water that is ideal for the crops' growth to its full potential. If this variety needs higher amount of fertiliser, it is ultimately increasing the input cost of the farmer, which he might not be able to afford. Millets are mainly a crop that grows in the semi-arid areas, and if this variety needs more water than the normal one it cannot be grown with the limited amount of water available.<br>Further, the general populace often views genetically engineered crops with suspicion. To dispell any such suspicion studies must be conducted to ascertain any risks it might pose to the health of the people or the environment. <br>Since we know that Tagus is an impoverished nation, there should be feasibility studies conducted to see if the government's coffers can afford to subsidise the seeds for the farmers.<br>The idea of using modified seeds to combat vitamin A deficiency is a noble one, but there is almost no evidence as to how effective this idea would be, both economically and biologically.