An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The recommendation is certainly a prudent one which is directly tackling the issue of impoverishment in Tagus. There are many questions that need to be answered for effective implementation.

Firstly, the recommendation mentions "engineered" for the new breed of millet, and doesn't imply field trials. As is the case with lab results, field trials are very important to assess mass production according to local cropping systems. Field trials would help in estimating actual production thus quantifying targets for reducing impoverishment.

Secondly, it is already established that Tagus is an impoverished nation. One could argue that the current agriculture infrastructure is lacking in technology and/or labour, and/or capital. Thus subsidies for farming should not only take into account the high costs of millets, but also the infrastructure needs of the farming system. It should also include technology transfer to cultivating engineered millet as part of the financing package

Thirdly, if millet is already a staple food, why is there any deficiency already existing? Could the reason for impoverishment be turn out to be something else. Engineered millet could be the first step in the right direction, but it is important to assess the causes of impoverishment, else the issue might persist even after intervention.

Finally, actually quantity of vitamin A must analysed by testing retail millet samples to understand the effectiveness of recommendation, so that optimization could