An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument is convinced that the government should be actively touting and promoting this new type of engineered millet to tackle the deficiency of vitamin A among the people of Tagus. The author cites that the government is willing to provide and equip the farmers with subsidies so as to tackle the purported high price of the farming the new millet variety as well. The author also claims that millet putatively being the staple food of Tagus, people will be willingly taking up this millet in their daily diet plans. The argument seems to be based on some unwarranted assumptions that might render the argument weak and also discrepancies between the actual results and what the author claims might be larger than expected.

Firstly, the author fails to quantify the increase in the cost of farming that would be evident once the farmers start cultivating. "More" doesn't provide us the clarity of how much exactly will be the increase in price and will the government subsidies be enough for farmers to maintain steady cultivation of these crops along with their households. Perhaps, the government subsidies will be enough to purchase the seeds for the crop but not for the cultivation and harvesting process. This might lead to severe problems where farmers might compromise with other regular and staple crops that sustain the country. This might be deleterious for the country on a large scale which is already classified as impoverished. The author must provide some insights on the increase in the price of farming that this new variety of millet might engender.

Though, millet might be a staple food for the people of Tagus the new millet might not be adopted by the people readily if there are noticeable differences in the gustatory aspects of the millet. Perhaps the new variety of millet is not tasteful enough or its integrity, when used in cooking, fails to hold as the normal variety available to the people. This might lead to people rejecting the new variety of millet. The author must specify specific reasons for how the millet is similar to the staple millet so that the new millet will successfully be adopted by the people.

Lastly, the new variety of millet that has been engineered and the advantages it proposed sounds questionable. Perhaps, the international development organization is yet to test the millet and conduct surveys of how effective it actually is and to judge any potential side effects. It is possible that the international organization cited has low credibility in the medical and nutritional professional's community and fraternity. The author must provide the International Organization's standings in the scientific community and should wait for the survey if it is to be conducted to test the efficacy of the millet. Sufficient studies regarding this millet must be cited and discussions in the medical community must be encouraged. This would also provide a sense of trust or credibility to the people of Tagus who will then be convinced to try the new millet.

In sum, the recommendation as of now stands weak and needs the answers to the questions and concerns as mentioned before. If the author considers the above suggestions to quantify the effects it will have on farming, and also justify the credibility of the millet and its benefits, I think the author will make a cogent case.