An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of

Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more,

farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus,

people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything

it can to promote this new type of millet.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation

is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

As mentioned in the argument, people belonging to Tagus suffer from vitamin A deficiency. Inorder to tackle this issue, the international developement organization has given a solution to consume a new variety of millet that is rich in vitamin A.

The argument clearly tells how to adopt to the new change but the questions that arise from this argument is whether the new type of millet is synthetic or naturally made such that the people would consume. The origin of new variety of millet would bring questions in the mind of the people whether this would actually help to combat vitamin A deficiency. Depending on the manufacture of the millet, the people, more largely would try to include it in their lifestyle. Apart from that, the citizens would also be concerned about whether there are any side effects for these new variety of millet. Since a new variety of millet would always bring a sense of distrust.

The paragraph also states that the cost of the new millet is higher than the already existing one. So, this would arise a question that whether deficiency in vitamin A causes any side effects or illnesses in order to adapt to the new variety of millet. If the deficiency does not bring much changes among the people, it is rare that the people would start consuming an expensive variety of millet. This, in turn arises another question whether the farmers would really benefit from cultivation the new variey of millet when compared to other crops. If the subsidy or the profit received from growing the new variety of millet is less, then chances are, that the cultivation of the new variety would not be incorporated by anyone despite of getting subsidies from the governement.

If the governement really focuses on combating the problem of vitamin A deficiency then it should also mention the health benefits and the disadvantages that are being faced by the people of Tagus due to lack of vitamin A. This would make people aware of the consequences and would try to incorporate the new variety of the millet, despite of it being expensive, into their daily life. Since they are not aware, largely of these consequences, it would be hard for them to accept the life style that they are currently following and will have many doubts.