An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The following argument has numerous flaws. At first glance it seems to be a quite good strategy by the government to to bolster the new variety of millet, rendering its main conclusion, to combat vitamin A deficiency, the government should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet, invalid.

At first glance, the decision made by the government is quite great, but it is lacking the evidence that why the government is so interested in that particular crop only. may be the government has some hidden intentions behind supporting farmers, e.g., the government is getting very high price for the millet outside their nation, and hence they are so keen to make profits out of it without let any of their citizens knowing about this fact. Being vitamin A deficient among people is common in the nation of Tagus, but why the government didn't do anything else before,, why now, when they came to know about this new breed. The hidden intentions of the government are not clear.

Furthermore, we don't have any proof to justify that people will be interested in purchasing this new type of millet, because we don't know what proportion of the people in Tagus are above poverty line and below it in order to afford. Because, it is blatant that there will be some transportation charges for supplying this new millet and they are already costly, hence making the overall cost much higher than expected. In this case many people will remain vitamin A deficient as before due to their inability to buy them. Then the whole plan of the government will go in vain.

Moreover, many people might never know about this new discovery in case they belong to some rural area of Tagus. They must be away from any kind of advertisement made by their government, and hence won't get the chance to use it, even though they are able to afford this brand new and healthy type of millet.The argument would have been more justified if we have some clue about the advertisement policies of the government for the new millet.

Overall though, the government of the nation of Tagus is trying to do a great job in order to make their people having sufficient amount of vitamin A, but at the same time, the argument is having flaws about the status of the people of Tagus and the government hidden intentions. Therefore, making the argument unwarranted.