The following was presented as part of a business plan by Apex Corporation.

"To answer the increased demand for artisan coffee, Apex Corporation is releasing a new line of coffee, "Gourmet Select." Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee into major supermarkets, where it hopes word-of-mouth advertising will sustain sales. After a few months Apex Corp. will run an advertising campaign aimed at television and radio while simultaneously releasing the brand to several major chain restaurants. Based on this strategy, Apex Corporation hopes to make "Gourmet Select" one of the top sellers in the coffee market."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument has numerous flaws. There is a demand for artisan coffee, but the Apex Corporation wants to release a new coffee brand, and expecting that it will gain the same fame as the former, rendering its main conclusion that it will eventually become one of the top sellers in the coffee market.

The very first evidence which is not given in the argument is about the releasing of the new coffee brand when there is a demand for artisan coffee. We don't know if there is any survey going on regarding coffee brands, that do people like to try a new brand of coffee other than their usual one. The argument would have been more effective if it could tell us that what is the total of proportion of the people, who like to shop from major supermarkets, so that the statement made in the business plan could show some clarity that their hopes have some way. The company is just hoping that word-of-mouth advertising will help in substantial sales, but we don't know whether people will be interested in purchasing a new brand of coffee. Their strategy will be helpful, if they consider the price and packaging of the new product, or try to provide a free trial pack of the new brand along with the old brand, which people like to use.

Furthermore, the Apex Corporation is planning to run an advertise campaign after few months, and aimed at television and radio while they are planning to simultaneously releasing the brand to several major chain restaurants. The company is just making its hopes high for their new brand to become a top seller without taking into consideration the few points, that how they are planning on advertising their new coffee in restaurant. Either they want to serve the new brand free of cost to the people, because in that case, it will be costly for the company itself, or they are going to put a set up of new coffee packs, so that interested folks buy it from there. We have no clue regarding their strategy, hence making the conclusion shaky. In contrast to this, television and radio might be advantageous for the advertisement of the "Gourmet Select", but that will be only till some point, because majority people don't want to heed on some normal advertisements like coffee or tea, and they tend to shift channels of the television in case they have to encounter some. Therefore, making the conclusion unwarranted.

To conclude, the Apex Corporation should work on pros and cons on the launching of their new brand, and contemplating the situation, like what will be the scenario if are going to present an absolutely new brand of coffee, when junta is demanding for something the present one.