The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following memorandum from the business manager is quite relevant, but it is lacking evidences regarding that restoring time devoted to weather and local news to its previous level is going to help attract more viewers. Hence, making the conclusion flawed.

The manager of television station is worried that news program has devoted more time to national news over local and weather news, and this is the reason why their viewers rating and numbers are dipping. Although, there is no evidence that viewers don't like to watch national news. The locals just want to see some of the local news as they belong to a certain place, and therefore want to what is going on in their city, but it does not mean that they want to cut themselves from their country or the world. Decreasing time for national news and restoring old time for local news is not going to help certainly in terms of gaining more viewers for the channel.

Furthermore, weather coverage are supposed to be a part of news, either it is a national news or an international news. Albeit, we have no evidence which can assert that viewers are so keen to watch weather news which is totally not in the favor of increasing time for weather news in order to get more viewers. Local and weather news combine is making a good combination for attracting viewers, provided news is fresh and latest whenever the viewer hit the remote button, in case channel want to get better in their TRPs.

If we talk about late-night news program, and the local business that used to advertise during that certain time period in the night, might get back to business with the television company, but the argument has no evidence or no such survey that mentions that how many people actually watch television during night. So it doesn't matter much that how much time the company increase for the local news, it won't affect the number of viewers especially during night. Moreover, if people want to see some kind of advertisement, they can see it during day time also. There is no need to be awake during night in order watch those advertisements while waiting for the repeat telecast of some show.

Overall though, the television station manager is trying to justify his position very effectively, but at the same time he forgot to mention some necessary evidences which can be effective while justifying his argument about attracting more viewers.