Recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp have led to a significant reduction in the species population. With the breeding season fast approaching, the number of shrimp should soon begin to increase. Nonetheless, the population should not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived. Because this trend is expected to continue over the next several years, the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

At first glance it seems to be blatant that the species of the Madagascan shrimp is exhausting due to recenr recursions by deep-sea fishermen, but if we try to justify the situation, t he following argument seems to be flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is saying that the significant reduction in the species population is the result of deep-sea fishermen incursions, rendering its main conclusion that the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species.

Firstly, we don't have any evidence regarding if the fishermen are the only reason behind the dip in the species population. There might be other reasons also behind the cause. For example: some predator, who also breed its species nearby and feed on the Madagascan shrimp in order to survive which is one of the many reasons for the species decrement. In this case, the argument failed to provide necessary details and hence attacking the conclusion. Furthermore, if these predators are one of the reason, then it leads us to think that feeding on some species is a natural process and will not lead to the significant reduction in the species population, because as a part of the nature's cycle, these species will again proliferate themselves.

Moreover, the argument would have been more justified if it has provided us the information about the climatic conditions when the breeding season. Because, the argument is saying that if the fishing boats arrive, then the shrimps population will decrease and eventually become endangered, but we don't have any clue at which time of the season these boats arrived. May be the species breed during winters and the fishing boats might arrived in summers and that too for entertainment reasons. For example: people have holidays during summers and doing a little fishing for fun will not cause much harm to the species which results that the argument is not properly justified if these fishing boats are completely responsible for the species being endangered. This case leads us to think that there are definately other reasons behind the upcoming extinction of the species.

Overall though, the argument is lacking evidences for advent that the Madagascan

shrimp will quickly become an endangered species, and the population should not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived. It would be unwarranted to agree with the argument when it is lacking proofs behind the cause.