The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

After reading the statement, the very first question that prompts in my mind is , what make an ordinary person, a leader? One, who has the potential to guide others, and making them follow him avidly. Yes, it is justify to say that leadership is a two way process, and in order to become a better leader, one must encourage people to present their views for the work done by their leader so that eventually that leader could take cerebral judgements. For that purpose people need to heed the words of their leader in order to provide him a genuine feedback, to make his leadership qualities salubrious.

To answer the above aforementioned question, that what makes an individual a leader, let's take an example of a widely known personality, Mahatma Gandhi, also known as the father of the nation in India. He was remarkable in his work to lead people, who not only belong to his community, but across. He was the one who coalesce the entire nation against the British rule single handed. He always encouraged people not only to listen to him and follow his orders, but he also use to take advice from his people, he used to lead, what is necessary in order to make their revolution better, and they eventually became successful in their agenda. There are many more examples of such leaders around the world, who made their people believe that they can achieve something they wished for, if they agreed to follow that particular person.

Moreover, what makes a leader best, the answer to this question is lie inside that person only, who wants to lead. No one is responsible for his doings, but he himself. Others, the ones who a person lead, are just their to bolster his intentions by giving some feedback based on his qualities. To count someone's positive and negative points doesn't make him/her a best leader, but it certainly make them better than before. Hence, there is a subtle boundary amidst a good leader and a best one. People, sometimes, consider themselves best among all, but unfortunately their thoughts can leave them in a lurch, in case they don't know what to do in a certain situation. Take a case of Saddam Hussain, the one who consider himself the best leader of all times, but never let his people to talk when it comes to suggestions. He was one of the dogmatic leaders of all times, and results into a havoc not only for his people, but the entire nation he used to lead, or rather say, used to rule.

Overall though, leadership is not an innate quality, but it is something which comes with experiences in life. Amalgam of some good and bad experiences can do their job to make a leader, good, along with the contribution of the thoughts and feedback of the people he lead.