An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

There are many additional sources needed in order for it to be appropriate that the Government of Tagus should accomplish everything in its power to promote the new type of millet. Comprehensive surveys stating the anticipated full wide adoption of the new millet by the people of Tagus, an array of scientific evidence from different patients proving that there are no adverse effects of the new type of millet and lastly, a vast number of organizations trying to create a new cheaper variety of millet, are all necessary for the Government of Tagus to promote the new millet.

The prompt states that because millet is a staple food in Tagus then people will adopt the new variety of millet. If something is a staple food in a place, that does not mean every single person in that place is in favor of the creation of the food. For example, if hot dogs were the staple food in New York, that does not mean that I, a resident of New York, will like a hot dog and support the production of hot dogs. Therefore, people will not necessarily adopt the new millet just because it is a staple food in Tagus.

Many comprehensive surveys are needed from the people of Tagus in order to find out the extent of how many people are willing to adopt the new type of millet. This will allow the Government of Tagus to see if the promotion of this new type of millet is worth the nation's time and money. If many surveys show that the people are not willing to adopt the new millet even with the possible subsidies than the Government should not promote the new type of millet.

The new breed of millet that is high in vitamin A may have an adverse effect on the poor nation of Tagus. For example, the new millet could help the Vitamin A deficient people of Tagus however, it may cause others to gain a deficiency to another essential Vitamin. I cannot know from this short passage whether or not the new millet has been thoroughly tested by scientists and doctors. Only after the new millet has been examined and tested by many patients over many years and proven to be safe and healthy can the Government be allowed to risk the lives of the people of Tagus.

One may argue that by holding back this new millet, the impoverished people of Tagus might suffer. However, I would argue that if the Government of Tagus gives the people of Tagus this new millet and it proves to be detrimental to their health, the millet can have worse health effects on the people than they had before.

Also, many organizations must try to engineer a new breed of millet high in vitamin A in order to discover a cheaper alternative to the new millet. If a cheaper millet is engineered then this new millet can help the poor nation of Tagus use it's money to buy food and other essential items. Also, if another cheaper millet is engineered then the Government can use it's money to help the Tagus economy instead of using the money to subsidize the expensive new variety of millet.

In conclusion, in order for the promotion of the new type of millet to be justifiable, surveys showing the future adoption of the millet, scientific evidence from an array of patients proving the safety of the millet and the trial of engineering a new cheaper millet by many organizations must be made.