An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author's claim to increase the production of the new variety of millet in Tagus in order to combat a deficiency among the natives does not wholly make a cogent argument to persuade the government to help in promoting the new type of millet . The author's argument is certainly rife with holes and underlying assumptions and various questions that need to prove their recommendations.

Firstly, the author states that there is deficiency of vitamin A among the people of Tagus, which leads him to claim as the reason behind why a new breed of millet rich in Vitamin A was engineered. Although the question that arises here is that how many people were a part of the survey and what were the age groups that took part?. What if only the highly impoverished people of an age group above 60 years were surveyed. As it is during the old age, an individual possesses some deficiencies which are sometimes also prescribed by a doctor. Also, what if only a few people of poverty stricken area in Tagus were surveyed by the organization. All these underlying assumptions need to elucidated by the author and a proper proof of a normed survey must be mentioned.

Secondly, the author insists on growing this new type of crop in Tagus. Which crops essentially constitute the nation's economic trade? Is millet the only crop that Tagus exports?. One can certainly assume here that even if the farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet,the decrease in the number of other crops that the nation produces or is capable of producing will surely not have a positive impact on the nations economic growth in the global market. Therefore, the author must specify firstly the economic value of the new type of millet in order to sustain the nation's growth it the global market. The author must also confirm if millet is the also one of the crops that the nation exports.

Aditionally, another question that arises here is that, is Millet traded in the economic market or is only produced in the nation as a staple food for the natives?. If this is the case, then, expanding the growth of millet in Tagus would hinder its position in the global market and might result in a downfall of the nations economic value. Thus, the author must take into consideration, all the aspects and repercussions of the solution.

Hence, in the end, if all the questions are answered and all the underlying assumptions are validated with cogency, the author's solution can be considered as a probable effect in helping the nation's native's health requirements.