"In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During a subsequent test of UltraClean at our hospital in Work by, that hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that the widespread use of ultraclean soap in hand-washing stations could diminish patient infection. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which more well-established evidence should be given.

First, the author contends that based on a study, use of ultraclean soap decrease bacteria population by 40 percent than liquid hand soap in the hospital. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since there is no sufficient evidence to support if this study is reliable and accurate. One point that should be considered is that different studies in the laboratory need several years for reliable outcomes. Indeed, there is no evidence to support to the extent people have been satisfied with this new soap. Maybe majorities of people still prefer to use liquid soap. It is also important to say that this new substance might not be healthy and there is a possibility that this ultraclean soap creates some problem for people's skin.

The author also asserts that this hospital where new soap is produced reported fewer patient infection than any other hospital. Although it might seem tenable at the face, it has some defects due to the paucity of evidence, which could consolidate the premise the otherwise. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that maybe this hospital just wants to advertise its new finding and make it profitable for the hospital. Or perhaps this hospital is not reliable or do not have enough facilities and people prefer to be treated in the other hospital.

Finally, as set forth by the author this ultraclean soap will reduce patient infection. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an inadequate evidence to support if the only reason of infection is soap. One point that should not go unnoticed is that various factors could have an impact on infection and perhaps worsened the infections and convey by different ways. Moreover, what if people be sensitive to the use of ultraclean?

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there is some evidence, having been ignored by the author while the answer of which could add to the logic of each premise.