“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states that we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight rather than manned space flight because of the following factors. The first factor is manned space flight is expensive and involves risk. The second factor is recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites. The arguer does not take all the factors into account. The argument depends on few assumptions. If the assumptions prove invalid, then the argument falls apart.

Firstly, the arguer assumes a great deal of information can be gathered without costs and risks associated with sending men and women by stating recent success series of unmanned space flights as evidence. The arguer does not state what is the information gathered from recent success series and is that information useful for everyone. The recent success series cannot guarantee future success of unmanned space flights. There are cases where more useful information can be gathered from manned space flight as unmanned space flights can gather only the intended information. In manned space flight, a man can gather information about unknown things. If any information could be gathered using using unmanned space flight, then it offers support to the argument

Secondly, the arguer assumes that unmanned space flight is better compared to manned space flight as unmanned space flights are cheaper and involves less risk. The arguer does not state if any information can be gathered by unmanned flight. In case of manned space flights, a man can know how to handle risks and gather information. If manned space flights can gather some information which could not be gathered by unmanned space flight, it is better to invest in manned space flight to reap more profits though it is costly.

However, if most of the information can be gathered by using manned and unmanned space flights, then it offers support to the argument.

If the above assumptions are unwarranted, then it undermines the argument. When all factors which are used for gathering the information are taken into account, they can be used to strengthen or weaken the argument.