"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument recommends taking similar action as the city of Transopolis in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. The argument needs specific evidence to evaluate it and that evidence helps us in deciding whether to follow the recommendation or not.

Firstly, there is no proper evidence that the initiative taken as part of urban renewal program ten years ago will yield the same results after ten years. There will be many changes that will have occurred in these ten years. For instance, the crime rate in the area ten years ago was very high compared to today and the factories constructed in that area might decreased the crime rates. Are the crime rates ten years ago and now same? Is there any evidence that the crime rates will decline and property tax revenues will increase if several factories are constructed on the opposite side of the city in the similar way it happened ten years ago? The answers to these questions helps in strengthening or undermining the argument.

Secondly, there is no proper evidence that what is apt for Transopolis city is also apt for the opposite side of the city. Are both sides of the cities similar in all aspects? If they are different in few aspects like the crime rate is very low in the opposite side of the city, then there would no use of constructing several factories in the opposite side of the city.

Thirdly, the argument assumes that alternate housing for those displaced will be readily available if several factories are constructed in the opposite side of the city. If the assumption is not valid, then its undermines the validity of the argument. For instance, if the housing is not readily available for many people who are displaced, there will be discrepancies among the people which may lead to increase in the crime rate in the opposite side of the city.

In order to evaluate the argument, the above specific evidences are to be considered. These evidences helps in strengthening or weakening the argument which helps in deciding whether to follow the recommendation or not.